Salsa

IMG_0665

My husband is a salsa junkie, and we were going through multiple jars per week.  So, of course, I got the crazy idea just to make my own and make a ton at a time.  I tried a recipe or two or three, but they all seemed just ok and were lacking a little.  In the end, I took the parts I liked from each recipe, and I combined them to make my own.  What you’ll need to make Fit Mama’s salsa:

  • 6-8 Cayenne peppers
  • 8 small Roma tomatoes
  • 1 small onion
  • 1/8 cup dried Cilantro (or 1/4 cup fresh Cilantro)
  • 2 Tblsp lime juice
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 2 tsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 2 drops pure liquid Stevia
  • 2 tsp garlic salt (or to taste)

Place the Cayenne peppers in the food processor, and process until the peppers are chopped into small pieces.  This will keep you from getting a large chunk of pepper and setting your mouth on fire.  Yes, I did learn that the hard way.

After the peppers are processed, add all of the remaining ingredients and process until you reach the desired consistency.

IMG_0663IMG_0664

Side Note: When my hubby wants this to be super spicy, I replace the cayenne peppers with two habanero peppers. Also, due to the lack of sugar in this recipe, it is 21 Day Fix approved and would count as a green.

Leave a comment