Open Faced Turkey Caprese Sandwich

IMG_0705

This is my go-to quick, easy, healthy-ish lunch.  It takes no time at all to put together, but it’s SOOOO tasty!  Plus, there’s no mayo or any other high calorie sauce.  Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1 slice whole wheat bread
  • 2-6 slices natural turkey (depending upon slice thickness)
  • 2-3 small slices fresh Mozzarella cheese
  • 1/2 a Roma Tomato
  • A few leaves of Spinach
  • 2-3 Basil leaves, chopped
  • Balsamic Vinegar (to taste)

Toast your slice of bread (side note: this isn’t necessary, but I love to douse mine in balsamic vinegar, and it doesn’t fall apart as easily when it’s toasted).

Add the rest of the ingredients on top of your bread. I usually put the balsamic vinegar on the bread so that it soaks in (yummm!), and I put the Mozzarella on the top so that it’s less messy, but you can add all of the ingredients on the bread in any order you want.  Of course, you can always use two slices of bread like a normal sandwich, but I only use one to keep the carbs and calories down.

For those doing 21 Day Fix, this would count as 1 yellow, 1 blue, and 1/2 green.  This is the main reason that I only use one slice, I don’t want to give up both of my precious yellows at one time!

Leave a comment